Susan Carol Hauser

Call for Barn Stories!

In Uncategorized on May 28, 2015 at 3:33 pm

I’m writing the text for a coffee table book on classic America barns for Voyageur Press and plan to include brief barn stories by people who have lived on farms. If you have a barn story, I would love to hear it. If I choose your story (or an excerpt) for the book, I will contact you for permission and will ask you to proofread the passage. My payment to you will be one copy of the book.

You can submit your story to me through Comment on this post, through Facebook, or by emailing me directly at schauser (@) paulbunyan.net

Please feel free to pass this along to others and to share it through social media. The book will be about barns all across the United States. If you have questions, please email me through Facebook.

Suggestion: When writing up your memory, focus on “sensory details,” things you know through your senses: colors, textures, sounds, scents, tastes. Positive, negative, serious and humorous stories are welcome!

If you get stuck while writing the passage, try starting with “the first thing I think of when I think of the barn is…” or, “what I miss about the barn is….”

With appreciation,

Susan
Deadline: June 5, 2015

No word limit

Leave a Reply

