Susan Carol Hauser

Peeping the Bog: May 13, 2014

In Bog-watching on May 13, 2014 at 2:12 pm

Peeping the Bog: May 13, 2014

Yesterday at noon I turned off the primary switch for my house heat. Last night I built a fire in my woodstove to take the chill off the evening air. This morning I rekindled the fire and then, faced with bringing in more wood, I turned the heat switch back on. The deciding factor was the scene in the bay: ice coats the two little grass islands near the shore and reveals a third one. A lone water bird floats to the side of the westerly island. None stand atop. For a moment I wonder if it is November, if I somehow missed summer. The coming and going of the seasons are not always distinct. Even the summer birds at my feeders—rose-breasted grosbeaks, red-winged blackbirds, orioles; Harris sparrows on the ground cleaning up the detritus—could be migrating north or south. In a few days or a week or so the impetus will be clear: grass greening rather than going brown; the birds staying, working at their nests; the yellow dandelion suns blooming alongside the house, huddled there like little animals seeking warmth, will flower all across the yard. On the coolest of mornings the miniature islands in the bay, going green with the grass, will be lively with ducks and geese, each in their turn standing up to the sun.

Image

  1. Beautiful spring morning a week later. I’m a wimp–my wood furnace is still going. I imagine the ice is gone. Grass IS green and I spotted a puddling of ducklings hugging mom at the far side of our pond.

  2. Ducklings? I guess they don’t get wunderground–it is not summer yet!

Leave a Reply

